St Paul DWI Lawyer Explains Charges
Did you know that DWI laws do not only happen on the roads? You can also be charged with DUI when operating recreational vehicles such as an ATV, a boat, a snowmobile and even an airplane. However, most DWI arrests in Minnesota take place on the road. The state police are cracking down on drinking and driving and thus more and more people are being arrested with a DWI.
DWI- driving while intoxicated or DUI – driving under the influence- also does not only mean drunk driving. If you are under the influence of any type of drug, you can also be arrested and convicted.
How DWI Charges Work
If you have been arrested with a DWI, then you are most likely confused by the accusation you have been given. Essentially, there are four different degrees of DWI arrests which will vary depending on the severity of your situation. There are three aggravating factors that will push your arrest into a higher degree of conviction. These factors include:
- The level of alcohol in your body. If you have an alcohol concentration of .20 or more, then you will most likely be charged with an aggravating factor.
- The number of DUI convictions you have had in the past. If you have been convicted with a DWI offense within the ten years preceding the current offense, then you will be arrested with an aggravating factor.
- Passengers in the vehicle – if you have a child under the age of 16 in the car when you are given the current offense, then you will be arrested with an aggravating factors
Aggravating Factors and DUI Charges
There are four degrees of DWI offenses. They are as follows:
- First Degree DWI – if you commit a violation within ten years of the first three or more drunk driving incidents or if you have been convicted of a DWI felony in Minnesota. This is the most severe instance of DWI charges.
- Second Degree DWI – if you have two or more aggravating factors present during the time of your arrest;
- Third Degree DWI – if you have one aggravating factor present during the time of your arrest.
- Forth Degree DWI – if you have a BAL of .08 or higher or are under the influence of a drug and are operating a commercial or recreational vehicle.
Handling DWI Arrest – St. Paul DWI Lawyer
A DWI conviction can affect more than just your driver’s license- it can cost you a hefty fine, time in jail and can destroy your work, family and personal relationships in the process. If you have been arrested for a DWI offense, regardless of whether it is a first degree or a forth degree offense, you need to act fact. For a free consultation 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, contact Samson Law today at 612-333-8001 for a consultation with the best St. Paul DWI lawyer. Judith Samson has been defending DWI cases for over ten years and can ensure you get the best outcome possible in regards to your DWI arrest.
Please contact our attorney for the most up to date information regarding the current laws. This article does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.