Minneapolis Assault Lawyer
Assault charges are usually the result of very frightening and highly emotionally charged people and situations. These situations are not usually accurately portrayed in the initial investigation by law enforcement. This can present a challenge, which is why you need excellent legal representation. The charges filed against you can have lifelong consequences. Whether the charge is First Degree Assault or domestic assault, there is help for you.
Contact me today to schedule a free initial consultation.
Types of Assault in Minnesota
There are different types of assault in Minnesota. They also come in different degrees and may be committed by different individuals. Here are the different degrees of assault:
- First Degree Assault – Great bodily harm has been inflicted upon another or deadly force has been used against a peace officer of any type when on duty.
- Second Degree Assault – When another is assaulted with a dangerous weapon that results in significant bodily harm.
- Third Degree Assault – When one who commits assault inflicts substantial bodily harm to another, such as a child and has a pattern of assault against children.
- Fourth Degree Assault – When a person assaults a peace officer, emergency room doctor, firefighter, natural resource employee, nurse, or another such individual.
- Fifth Degree Assault – When one commits assault in an attempt to cause bodily harm, death, or to cause fear in another.
- Domestic Assault – When an act of assault is committed against someone within the household. This assault can include physical harm or the act of driving fear into an individual. This fear can involve fear for their life or fear of being injured.
Assault Offense Penalties
An individual may be charged with a simple assault charge, which will result in a misdemeanor or an individual can be charged with a felony. The consequences are reliant upon the severity of the crime. For instance, punching someone in a bar may qualify as a misdemeanor offense, but beating someone to the point that they have to be hospitalized may constitute a felony. Such crimes as assaulting a peace officer are an automatic felony.
A First Degree Assault could have a penalty of up to 20 years in prison and $30,000 in fines. Second Degree Assault could have a penalty of up to 7 years in prison and $14,000 in fines. Third Degree Assault can have a prison sentence of up to 5 years and $10,000 in fines. Fourth Degree Assault may be considered a gross misdemeanor and have a penalty of up to a year in jail and $3,000 in fines. A Fifth Degree Assault in Minnesota has the potential to carry a 90 day jail term and possible penalties.
Contact Judith Samson Assault Lawyer Today For A Free Consultation
Contact Judith A. Samson Attorney at Law for your free initial consultation 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 612-333-8001.