Many people are surprised to learn that Minnesota state laws against drunk drivers are extremely tough. The laws involving DWI are extremely complex and many drivers are not even aware that what they are doing is really so bad. For example, let’s say you and your wife and two year old daughter are on your way home from a Christmas party. Let’s say you had two glasses of wine with dinner. If you are stopped and your BAL checked, there is a good chance it will be over the .08 limit; furthermore, because you are driving with a young child in the car, you may face a third degree DWI arrest simply for having a civilized evening with friends. It’s best to know exactly what you are getting in to before you get in to that driver’s seat.
Understanding DUI Laws
Here are some factors that can affect your DWI arrest in Minnesota
- If you are driving with a BAL of .08, then you can be arrested with DWI. However, if your BAL is .20 or higher, then you may face higher convictions
- If you are driving with a child under the age of 16 in the car during the time of your arrest, you may face higher convictions
- If you have had a DWI felony in the past, or three or more DWI arrests in the last ten years, then you will face higher convictions
- If you are under the influence of a controlled substance or illegal drug, including marijuana, then you can also receive a DWI offense.
Am I Over the Limit?
There are three ways in which blood alcohol levels are measured. One of the most common is the breath test, or a breathalyzer which are usually performed during road checks and random breath checks. There are also blood tests and urine tests which are usually performed at the police station after the arrest. All of these tests can be scary and also quite incriminating but it’s important to understand that, in certain instances, these tests may be made illegal to the courts.
Many people who are accused of DWI will refuse to take these tests. If this is the case, you will automatically be charged with a gross misdemeanor which could negatively impact your driver’s record and your life. So what is your best bet when it comes to handling DUI / DWI arrests in Minnesota?
Minneapolis DWI Defense Lawyer
If you have been accused or arrested with a DWI, then you need to speak to a Minneapolis DWI lawyer as soon as you are arrested. Judith Samson will be able to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with your DWI case. She had the experience and the aggression you need to help you out of this severe criminal charge. She can explain the legal procedures and help you determine your best bet in the courts. Contact her today at 612-333-8001.
Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.