One in eight of all Minnesota drivers have been arrested for drinking and driving. This is an astonishing 12% of the Minnesota driving population. What these numbers suggest is that the Minnesota law enforcement is cracking down on drinking and driving with multiple DUI arrests to show for it.
DWI Minnesota Statistics
In 2006, there were:
- 41,951 motorists arrested for driving while intoxicated in Minnesota
- An average of 115 DUI arrests per day
- 3,688 drunk drivers involved in motor accidents
- 3,500 injuries due to drunk driver accidents
- 116 deaths due to impaired drivers
DUI drivers in Minnesota are
- 76% male
- Over 50% 20-29 years old
- Over 10% underage
- Over 50% arrested on a Saturday or Sunday
- 60% first time offenders
- 38% had multiple arrests for drunk driving
Avoiding DWI Charges
Of course, the smartest thing to do if you have been drinking, even if it is only a beer after work, is to take a cab or get a ride home with a designated driver. Even if you have only had one drink, this could put you above the legal BAL limit of .08 (.02 for young drivers). If you know you are in for a big night, arrange a ride ahead of time. Even if you have to pay an extra $20 for cab fare, you are saving yourself (and others on the road) from an accident waiting to happen. Your smartest option is to avoid the complications and the risks involved in getting behind the wheel. Period.
However, as the statistics prove, this is not always the option we choose to take. If you have been arrested or accused with a DUI, it is important that you get the legal representation you need to overcome this arrest and avoid criminal conviction
Minnesota DWI Convictions
A lot is at stake if you are convicted of a DUI, regardless of whether it is your first charge or your fifth. If it is your first DUI conviction, you can expect your license to be suspended, you will be fined up to $1000 and/or spend 90 days in jail. If this is your second conviction, you could face up to 180 days suspension, up to $3000 in fines and up to one year in prison. With each DWI conviction, you will continue to face harsher penalties including license suspensions, prison time and fines. You may also need to attend treatment and rehabilitation and could be charged with a DWI felony which comes with up to 7 years in prison and a $14,000 fine.
Your best bet if you have been arrested with a DUI is to contact a professional DWI attorney in Minneapolis. Samson Law have been handling DWI cases for over 10 years and can assess your case and provide you with aggressive representation during this stressful situation. Contact 612-333-8001 for a consultation with Judith Samson. Your smartest defense against a DUI charge is Samson Law in your corner.
Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.